Council: Ad Hoc Service Committees and Taskforces: Ad Hoc Service Committee

 

Ad Hoc Service Committee


 

Purpose

The Ad Hoc Service Committee, or AHSC, for short, is a committee helping to connect our members with effective water related service opportunities. We’ve seen that our members often make large donations of their time and talent when given the right opportunity.

 

Our goal is to start making pertinent information available to the NC-AWWA community about an array of worthy water focused charities. Information such as the mission and types of work they perform, the geographies they serve, and the types of volunteer opportunities available, which can be seen in the volunteer table. Over time we expect to add even more service organizations to our list. 

 

 

Leadership

2019 Chair

 John McLaughlin (john.mclaughlin@merrick.com

 

2019 Vice Chair

Rebecca Hutchinson (rhutchinson@merrick.com

 

Other Members

Amir Hadjimiry  (ahadjimiry@dewberry.com
Jordan Taylor (jtaylor@hiepc.com

Richelle Hines (richelle.hines@ci.charlotte.nc.us

 

 

Organization Name Charity Location Focus Volunteer Opportunities Contact Information Website Link

Community Engineering Corps
Provide technical expertise to underserved communities in the United States and ensure that their infrastructure meets their community's needs.

 

USA 1. Join a Project Team
2. Join a Committee
Clare Haas Claveau - Program Director, cecinfo@ewb-usa.org
Lauren Butner - Program Manager
Melissa Prelewicz - Project Engineer
http://www.communityengineeringcorps.org/volunteers/
Curamericas
Focused in medical/health care and sanitation.
International/USA

Local
1. Volunteer at the Guatemalan Consulate in Raleigh, NC
2. Volunteer at the HQ in Raleigh, NC

International
1. Travel for a variety of projects
2. Heath Care Assistant in Guatemala
3. Construction of maternity houses

 

info@curamericas.org
https://www.curamericas.org/

Engineers without Borders
EWB-USA supports community-driven development programs worldwide by collaborating with local partners to design and implement sustainable engineering projects, while creating transformative experiences and responsible leaders.

 

International 1. Join a Professional Chapter
2. Become a Mentor
3. Become a Reviewer
4. Join a Committee
Asheville - Benji Burrell, benji@benjiburrell.com
Research Triangle - Bruce Binney, bruce.binney@gmail.com
Asheville:
http://ewbasheville.org/

Research Triangle:
http://rtpewb.com/
Local Stream Clean Up - Charlotte
Clean waterways in Charlotte and Meckleburg County.
Mecklenburg County Adopt a Stream Ashley Smith, ashley.smith@mecklenburgcountync.gov Choose a stream segment to clean 2X/yr for 2 yrs

Local Stream Clean Up - Raleigh
Monitor and clean waterways in Raleigh.

 

Raleigh Adopt a Stream 919-996-3940, StormwaterVolunteers@raleighnc.gov Choose a stream to clean 1X/yr

Local Stream Clean Up - Winston Salem
Monitor and clean waterways in Winston Salem.

 

Winston Salem Adopt a Stream citylink@cityofws.org Choose a stream segment to clean 2X/yr

Water for People
Promote the development of high-quality drinking water and sanitation services, accessible to all, and sustained by strong communities, businesses, and government.

 

International Committees
World Water Corps
Keller Schnier, KSchnier@BrwnCald.com https://www.waterforpeople.org/get-involved/volunteer
https://www.facebook.com/waterforpeople/
Water Mission
Design customized solutions for each community and partner with the recipients throughout the process. Focus on WASH (water, sanitation and hygiene) solutions.
International 1. Volunteer at the HQ in North Charleston, SC
2. Host a Walk/Engage your community
3. Get invovled with The Educators ThinkTank
843-769-7395
https://watermission.org/get-involved/
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal