News: NC AWWA-WEA News

A Statement from the NC AWWA-WEA Board of Trustees

Friday, June 5, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Jennifer Picarella
Share |


A Statement from the NC AWWA-WEA Board of Trustees


On behalf of our members, committees, and staff, the NC AWWA-WEA Board of Trustees want to acknowledge the recent tragedies and events in our country. These events, coupled with the effects of COVID-19, have highlighted the systemic racism and inequality that continues to exist in our society.  We also recognize that the protests in local communities and across the country are a part of the expression of pain and frustration that is felt by Black Americans daily. NC AWWA-WEA stands with those protesting peacefully for change and want to make a commitment.


As industry leaders, we are committed to continue doing all that we can to identify, challenge, and change systems of inequity that perpetuate racism and bias as we advance our mission. We also reaffirm our commitment to leading this transformation by becoming a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive water sector through our organization’s membership and activities. We will promote principles and practices that ensure our organization reflects the diversity and inclusion of our membership, industry professionals and those we serve. In addition, we are committed to building and strengthening relationships with local leaders and our parent organizations to support and implement programs that ensure all representative segments of our industry are valued and have a voice and role in this envisioned future.


We encourage our members, their families and friends to be aware of their own biases (conscious and unconscious), examine how they create barriers between us and work together to redefine and reshape how you view and treat your fellow human beings.


We look forward to your continued support and personal commitment to work with us as we continue to learn, grow, and strive towards a more equitable society.


2019-2020 Board of Trustees

Jeff Coggins, Chair

Kenneth Waldroup, Chair-Elect

Brian Tripp, Vice Chair

David Saunders, Past Chair

Ben Kearns, Secretary

Greg Morgan, Treasurer

Tom Bach, Trustee

Kevin Irby, Trustee

Jordan Taylor, Trustee

Kristine Williams, Trustee

Ron Hargrove, AWWA Director

Betsy Drake, WEF Director

Chris Belk, WEF Director

Ken Vogt, WEF Director-Elect

Tony Mencome, Professional Wastewater Operators Representative

Mike Borchers, Professional Water Operators Representative

Catrice R. Jones, Executive Director



Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal