Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Create a Profile
Board of Trustees


The NC AWWA-WEA Board of Trustees is made of up 16 members elected by NC AWWA and NC WEA members. The role of the Board of Trustees is to provide mission-based leadership and strategic governance. The Board is responsible for setting the direction of the organization, which includes: mission, vision, strategic plan, and financial oversight. The Board meets regularly, and Board members frequently attend a variety of NC AWWA-WEA events.




Members of the 2018 -2019 Board of Trustees


What is the role of each Board member?


How are Board members elected?


Leadership Development

Do you have aspirations to serve on the NC AWWA-WEA Board of Trustees? Then you may be interested in the NC AWWA-WEA Leadership Development Program!


This new program provides a structured approach to facilitate member development for leadership roles within NC AWWA-WEA, sustain strong leadership of NC AWWA-WEA, and expand networking opportunities for participants. The program is focused on identifying those members who are already exhibiting leadership potential through higher levels of activity within NC AWWA-WEA, such as serving as a current or past chair or vice-chair (officer) of a NC AWWA-WEA committee. Through one on one interaction with their mentor and attending NC AWWA-WEA functions together, mentees gain a greater understanding of the history and structure of NC AWWA-WEA leadership, how the Board of Trustees operates and makes decisions, and what it means to be a leader in NC AWWA-WEA. Mentors are all established leaders of NC AWWA-WEA who have served on the State Board of Trustees at least once. Learn more about the Leadership Development






David Saunders, P.E.
Phone: (336) 416-3462


Chair Elect

Jeff Coggins, P.E.
Black & Veatch
Phone: (704) 510-8415



Vice Chair

Kenny Waldroup, P.E.
City of Raleigh
Phone: (919) 996-3489


Past Chair

Ray Cox, P.E.
Highfill Infrastructure
Phone: (910) 313-1516



Steve Hamilton
Wayne Water Districts
Phone: (919) 731-2310



Brian Tripp, P.E., BCEE
W.K. Dickson & Co., Inc.
Phone: (704) 334-5348


WEF Delegate

Chris Belk, P.E.

Hazen & Sawyer, P.C.

Phone: (919)-755-8637


WEF Delegate

Betsy Drake
Town of Cary
Phone: (919) 481-5093


AWWA Director

Ron Hargrove
Charlotte Water 
Phone: (704) 336-4460



Courtney Driver
Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Utilities 
Phone: (336) 747-7315





Rachel Monschein
Town of Cary
Phone: (919) 362-5507



Tom Bach, P.E. 

City of Concord

Phone: (704)-920-5344



Kevin Irby, P.E.

CDM Smith

Phone: (919)-329-3516



Professional Wastewater
Operators Representative

Anthony Mencome
Heyward Inc.
Phone: (704)-583-2305



Professional Water Operator

Ben Kearns
Cape Fear Public Utility Authority
Phone: (910) 332-6577






Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal