George W. Burke, Jr. Safety Award


2018 Recipient: Brunswick County Sewer Collections Division 

 2018 Recipient: Brunswick County Sewer Collections Division 



The Brunswick County Sewer Collections Division has a multitude of safety programs in place.  The programs include, lockout/tagout, hearing protection and training, fall protection, electrical safety, and hazard communication.  The Division provides first aid and CPR training and has created plans for fire prevention and emergency action.  Each division of their organization has job specific safety policies and procedures in place. The Division also has a safety committee that assesses and analyze details of incidents and takes specific actions to proactively prevent and repeat incidents from occurring.  The utility department strives to be proactive with relevant training.




This award was established in 1982 in honor of George W. Burke, Jr. for his many years of service both to the

water pollution control field and the Federation as staff manager of technical services. Mr. Burke was instrumental in developing the Federation’s annual safety survey and assisting in the production of several safety training aids and promotional packets.


The purpose of this award is to encourage an active and effective safety program in municipal and industrial wastewater facilities, and to stimulate the collecting and reporting of injury data. The documented and illustrated safety program and safety record of the facility for the preceding calendar year are the primary criteria for the award. In addition, each Member Association is allowed full freedom to establish its own criteria.



Past Recipients

2017 Brunswick Regional Water and Sewer H2GO, Belville Wastewater

2016 City of Eden - Mebane Bridge Wastewater Treatment Plant

2015 Fayetteville Public Works Commission - Rockfish Creek & Cross Creek WRF 

2013 Charlotte Mecklenburg Utility Department
2011 Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District
2010 Orange Water & Sewer Authority
2009 Water & Sewer Authority of Cabarrus County
2008 Greenville Utilities Commission
2007 Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District
2006 GE/GNF-A
2005 City of Winston-Salem
2004 Water & Sewer Authority of Cabarrus County
2003 Water & Sewer Authority of Cabarrus County
2002 Water & Sewer Authority of Cabarrus County
2001 Ecusta-Pisgah Forest
1999 City of Salisbury
1998 Fayetteville PWC
1997 City of Gastonia
1996 City of Lenoir
1995 City of Mt. Airy
1994 City of Sanford
1993 Fayetteville PWC
1992 City of Albemarle
1991 City of Wilson
1989 City of Albemarle
1988 City of Durham
1987 Elizabeth City
1986 City of Monroe
1985 MSD of Buncombe County
1984 Miller Brewing Co., Eden
1983 City of Raleigh

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal