Donald E. Francisco Educator of the Year Award


2017 Recipient: Troy Perkins, Greenville Utilities Comission


2017 Recipient: Troy Perkins, Geenville Utilities Comission 

  •  Leadership of the Plant Operations and Maintenance Committee
  •  Service as NC AWWA-WEA Board of Trustees Liaison
  •  Program administrator for the creation, development, and execution of statewide Maintenance Technologist Certification Program to certify industry maintenance professionals through education and examination




This award, established in 2003, is given annually by the Association to a member who demonstrates outstanding service to the Association and the industry through education and training of water and wastewater professionals. Through teaching and communication, the recipient conveys the skills, knowledge, art and science of the water and wastewater industry. The recipient shall be actively involved in teaching and instructing environmental professionals.


Donald E. Francisco Educator of the Year Award Sub-Committee
Organization: This sub-committee shall be appointed by the Chair and shall consist of the Chairs of the following committees: Collection & Distribution Schools Committee, Plant Operations & Maintenance Committee, Seminars & Workshops Committee, and the Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators Schools Committee. This sub-committee shall present nominations from their respective committees to the other sub-committee members and they shall jointly discuss and select a recipient.  

Primary Activities: This committee shall report to the NC AWWA-WEA staff each year that a recipient has been selected. This committee will function each year.

Past Recipients

2016 Mark Wessel

2015 John Hodges 

2014 Helene Hilger

2013 Barry Shearin
2012 Dwight Lancaster
2011 Steve Drew
2011 Roger Spach
2010 Bob Berndt
2009 Robert Griffin
2008 Don Price
2007 Don Knibb
2006 Tom Hunter
2005 Robert Dodson
2004 Roy Purgason
2003 Donald E. Francisco

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal