Safewater Maintenance Technican of the Year Excellence Award


2018 Recipient: Jim Bridges, Town of Cary

2018 Recipient: Jim Bridges, Town of Cary


 Jim Bridges is a graduate of NC State University and is a Senior Mechanic Operator for the Town of Cary.  He serves as the official in-house trainer for lockout tag out and arc flash arc blast.  Jim has been an active member of the Town of Cary’s Electrical Safety Committee for several years.  He has participated in many significant plant projects which include installation of standby power to multiple buildings, addition & replacement of variable frequency drives, and the installation of a fiber optic network.


Selection Committee and Award Criteria

A selection committee of three knowledgeable individuals will be appointed by the PMOC Chair for one, two and three year terms of service.  As each of the first 3 award winners are selected, they will replace the appointed members until the entire selection committee will be comprised of the previous three award winners. By August 15th of each year, the committee will select a recipient from the nominations of individuals employed as water or wastewater plant maintenance professionals in North Carolina.

The selection will be based on an appropriate weighing following list of criteria in no particular order:

  •  Maintenance certifications and training
  • Active membership in professional associations
  • Years of service
  • Recommendations from supervisors and/or other professionals
  • Professional accomplishments
  • Training and sharing of skills and abilities with other professionals
  • Other criteria as deemed appropriate by the committee

The selection committee will provide a brief written reason for their selection to the Association’s Executive Director. After the selection has been made, the POMC Chair will provide an appropriate and timely notification to the winner, and will coordinate the recipient’s attendance at the award ceremony.  The POMC Chair will assist Association staff in the award presentation both at the Annual Conference, and to the recipient’s governing board.


Award Nominations
Nominations can be made by anyone for any maintenance professional in North Carolina, and will be accepted by the award committee throughout the year.

Past Recipients

2017 Patrick Evans

2016 Jamie Chandler

2015 Eric Oldham 

2014 Barry Thornton

2013 David Cox
2012 Dell Harney
2011 John Hodges
2010 Bob Fritts

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal