Golden Manhole Award

2018 Recipient: John Allen, Fayetteville Public Works Commission



2018 Recipient: Wendy Banks, Carolina Management Team



2018 Recipient: Matthew Vessie, City of Raleigh



2018 Recipient: John Allen, Fayetteville Public Works Commission 


Member of the Collection Systems Committee for 10 years
Has served on the Awards Committee


2018 Recipient: Wendy Banks, Carolina Management Team


Past Chair and Current Vice-Chair for the Exhibits Committee
Member of the Plant Operations & Maintenance Committee
Involved in promoting the activities of the committee, both within NC AWWA-WEA, as well as to other utilities


2018 Recipient: Matthew Vessie, City of Raleigh


Sewer Maintenance Division with the City of Raleigh for over 10 years
Instructor, Coordinator and Vice-Chair for the Collections and Distribution Schools Committee
Delivered presentation at the 2016 Utility Management Conference



The Golden Manhole Award is a method to recognize those individuals who are significant contributors to the advancement of the Systems Design, Education, Training, Certification, Construction, Operations, Maintenance, and Management of Water Distribution Systems or Wastewater Collection Systems.  This award will provide a permanent recognition of efforts that promote professionalism and pride among those involved in Collection and Distribution Systems activities.



This Award has been approved by the Water Environment Federation as a way to recognize those who have contributed to the development and professionalism of the Collection System Industry on a national level.  It is the desire of the Federation that each Member Association adopt this award, which would be given on the Member Association level.  The State criteria for the award will reflect the WEF approved criteria.


In North Carolina, because our Association is a combined organization of volunteers affiliated with the American Water Works Association and  the Water Environment Federation, we propose that the award be issued to those individuals involved with either Collection Systems or Distribution Systems.  The precedent for this inclusion locally stems from the NC AWWA-WEA criteria for the 5-S award that honors recipients from either AWWA or WEF orientations.


Criteria for the Golden Manhole Society will be 3 or more of the following:

  • Years of experience and significant accomplishments in the Design, Education, Training, Certification, Construction, Operations, Maintenance, Safety, or Management of Water Distribution Systems or Wastewater Collection Systems. 
  • Innovative solutions to problems.
  • Presentations and/or participation at conferences.
  • Involvement in promoting the professional recognition of the Collection/Distribution Systems field.
  • Papers or articles accepted by state, regional or national publications.
  • Membership in WEF national collections system committee or AWWA national distribution systems committee
  • Membership in good standing with the NC AWWA-WEA
  • Active involvement with the NC AWWA-WEA Wastewater Collection / Water Distribution Committee.
  • Any other reason why the Nominee deserves recognition.


Past Recipients

2017: Mike Borchers
2016: Dan Anderson, Frazier Engineering

2015: Barbara Moranta 

2014: Jeff Cruickshank, Robert H. Bald

2013: Theresa Benson, Walter (Ted) Credle, Troy Perkins, and Keith Shirley
2011: Tony Arnold, Dave Brown, Scott Helfrick, Chip Smith
2010: Steve Cavanaugh, Rick Davis, Geri Brown, Christine Nesbit
2009: Will Baker, Michael Kirby, Howard Corey, Bart Hepler
2008: Tony Dubois, Marie Doklovic, Greg Wells, Andy Brogden
2007: Wayne Bryant, Wane Miles, Thurman Green, Robert Walters, Richard Huffman, Kevin Eason, Kelly Derr, Dwight Lancaster, Don Knibb, Angela Lee

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal