Kenneth J. Miller Founders' Award

2018 Recipient: Lamya King, Hazen and Sawyer

2018 Recipient: Lamya King, Hazen and Sawyer


 Lamya has worked tirelessly over the past several years planning the Raleigh 5k race, helping it to grow into the event it was this year with over 270 participants and significant community support!  This is of course in addition to all of the other things she helps with:  soliciting sponsorships, finding appropriate articles to submit to NC Currents, and serving as Vice Chair of the Water For People Committee.  




The Kenneth J. Miller Founders’ Award was established in 2001 by the Board of Directors of Water For People to honor outstanding volunteer service being contributed to this international humanitarian effort. Water For People was conceived as a North American response to the water, sanitation and health needs of millions of families living in the developing world. From its beginnings, Water For People was envisioned to be a volunteer effort of the North American water community. The AWWA leaders who organized Water For People believed that water professionals throughout North America would recognize the urgent necessity to support such a cause by contributing their financial assistance, organizational skills, and professional expertise. This they have done as local groups of water and sanitation professionals launched active programs in support of Water For People.

As the organization grew and began to accomplish its vision of service, it became evident that extraordinary volunteer efforts were being made at the local level and that this dedicated work ought to be publicly acknowledged and honored. The Founders’ Award was established to do this. The search for a model individual to exemplify the value of volunteer service and to underscore the importance of this award led immediately to Kenneth J. Miller of Denver, Colorado, one of the founders of Water For People and its first president. This award recognizes those who emulate Kenneth J. Miller’s example of self-sacrificing volunteer service.

Past Recipients

2017 Nick Dierkes

2016 Paul Judge

2015 Keller Schnier 

2014 Albert Gallaher, III

2013 Juliette McLelland
2012 Kraig Kern
2011 Todd Davis
2010 Ilke McAliley
2009 Lisa Edwards
2008 Chris Belk
2007 Crystal Bonge
2006 Art Mandler
2004 Fred Hauchman
2003 Julie Hellmann
2002 Donald Knibb
2001 Peter Weed

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal