Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Create a Profile
NC Stockholm Junior Water Prize



Joshua Zhou, a student at The North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics in Durham, NC, has been named a state winner of the 2016 Stockholm Junior Water Prize (SJWP) competition - the most prestigious youth award for water-related research. Selected for his project, “Low-Cost Heterostructure Semiconductor Uses Energy in Visible Light to Efficiently Breakdown Environmental Toxins Threatening Aquatic Life”, Joshua will represent North Carolina at the national competition being held on the campus of UNC Charlotte June 17 - 19, 2016 in Charlotte, NC.


Joshua conducted his research at Duke University, and his project worked to reassess a common water pollutant’s environmental disruption and develop a material to break it down under sunlight. “The state winner’s study is very relevant to issues facing the water quality community, and presents an innovative approach to addressing water quality issues”, said Catrice Jones, NC AWWA-WEA Executive Director. As a professional association of water quality experts, we are extremely proud to send Joshua to the national competition.


The purpose of the SJWP is to increase students’ interest in water-related issues and research, and to raise awareness about global water challenges. The competition is open to projects aimed at enhancing the quality of life through improvement of water quality, water resources management, water protection, and water and wastewater treatment.


In the United States, the Water Environment Federation (WEF) and its Member Associations (MAs), including the NC WEA, organize the regional, state, and national SJWP competitions with support from Xylem Inc. The NC AWWA-WEA selected and is sponsoring Joshua to participate in the 2016 national competition.


The national winner receives a $10,000 (USD) scholarship and an all-expense-paid trip to Stockholm, Sweden for the international SJWP competition to represent the United States during World Water Week, August 27 through September 2, 2016. The Bjorn von Euler Innovation in Water Scholarship Award, a $1,000 scholarship sponsored by Xylem Inc., will be also awarded to the SJWP state winner who demonstrates a passion for education, spirit of creativity, and innovation. 


For more information about SJWP, visit

Past North Carolina Winners


2016  Joshua Zhou

2015  Vibha Puri

2014  Margaret Pan
2013  Christie Jiang
2012  Avi Aggarwal
2011  Jenifer Brown
2010  Ankesh Madan
2009  Eileen Jang (National Competition Winner)
2008  Kara Tinker
2007  Jeremy Feaster

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal