Wastewater Laboratory Analyst Certification & Exam

Wastewater Laboratory Analyst Certification



The NC AWWA-WEA Wastewater Laboratory Analyst Committee is responsible for this certification program. The North Carolina AWWA-WEA sponsors the voluntary Wastewater Laboratory Analyst Certification Program. Although all wastewater laboratories are required to be certified by the State of North Carolina, this voluntary analyst program is a way for the individual laboratory analyst to prove their competence and increase their professional skills.


Current Wastewater Laboratory Analysts 


To view a current list of certified Wastewater Laboratory Analysts click here. (Last updated 07/2019)



Upcoming Wastewater Laboratory Analyst Exams


Click the link for exam application and instructions.


Eastern Wastewater Laboratory Analyst Exam


Western Wastewater Laboratory Analyst Exam



Exam Information

Click here for eligibility requirements.

There are four levels of exams (Class I-IV, with the Class IV being the highest). 


Education and laboratory experience requirements for each level are based on the Association of Boards of Certification criteria. One year (defined by the North Carolina Certification Board as 1800 hours) of wastewater laboratory experience is required to start with the Class I exam, regardless of education.


The wastewater laboratory experience can be from any time in the analyst’s career. The program is a sequential program in that all analysts must start with the Class I exam, regardless of education or years of experience.



Related Documents

Click on the link below to open each document.













Important Contacts

Carla Meadows - Certifications Manager

(919)-784-9030 x 1002



























Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal